IHIF Announces Legislators of the Year

Recognizes those making significant policy impact on the state’s health science sector

Contact: Kristin Jones, President and CEO
Indiana Health Industry Forum
kjones@ihif.org or 317-686-0994

INDIANAPOLIS, IN (May 16, 2016) — In conjunction with its 2016 Annual Meeting, the Indiana Health Industry Forum (IHIF) recognized U.S. Representative Larry Bucshon, M.D., and State Senator Patricia Miller as the IHIF 2016 Legislators of the Year.  “Each year we recognize federal and state legislators who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence in public health policy and service to Indiana’s health science business community”, said Kristin Jones, President and CEO of IHIF.  “This year we are so pleased to be able to recognize both Representative Bucshon for his work and leadership on the Congressional 21st Century Cures Initiative and Senator Miller for her dedication to health issues and 30 years of public service”.


Prior to being elected to Congress, Representative Bucshon spent his career specializing in cardiothoracic surgery and has performed hundreds of heart surgeries.  As one of only a few practicing physicians in Congress his experience with all aspects of health care delivery afford him unique insight and perspective on efforts to improve patient care and seek value across the health care spectrum.  He has been an educated voice of opposition to a proposed CMS rule that would implement a new Medicare Part B drug payment model that would negatively affect patient access to essential medication and treatment therapies.   He has also been a leader in the fight against opioid abuse, working with Representative Paul Tonko (D-NY) to introduce, “The Opioid Use Disorder Treatment Expansion and Modernization Act”.


Senator Patricia Miller announced earlier this year that she would be retiring from the state legislature after more than 30 years.  Her outstanding efforts as Chair of the Senate Committee on Health and Provider Services have led to policies that have touched and improved the lives of countless Hoosiers. Her commitment to common sense care and high regard for patient dignity are well reflected in her legislative record.


“We are proud that Indiana has been so involved, informed, and well represented”, said Jones “and we are pleased to be able to recognize the contributions of Rep. Bucshon and Senator Miller”.   Previous recipients of IHIF’s Legislative Award include: State Representative. Ed Clere (2014), State Senator Brandt Hershman (2014), and U.S. Representative Susan W. Brooks (IN-5) (2015).

Rep. Larry Bucshon Official Photo
U.S. Rep. Larry Bucshon, M.D. (IN-8th)
Member of the House Energy &
Commerce Committee


Senator Patricia Miller (District 32)
Assistant President Pro-Tempore

About IHIF

The Indiana Health Industry Forum (IHIF) is a statewide trade association representing members of Indiana’s health science business community.  The diverse members of IHIF generate the collective voice of the state’s health and life science industry.  Our mission is to connect key stakeholders to: enhance business networks, advocate for member interests, develop workforce skills, and provide strategic vision in the interest of growing the state’s health industry economy and reputation.  For more information and to become a member, please visit www.ihif.org





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: